Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year

sunday times young writer of the year

The Sunday Times has re-launched The Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award in partnership with literary agency, PFD. For the first time ever, the prize is open to self-published authors. Andrew Holgate, who is literary editor at The Times said: “It is about adjusting the prize to the realities of the modern world; there is no reason why we should have a bias against self-published works.” This shows that there has been a huge shift in attitudes towards self-publishing. Now even the old literary establishment is opening up to self-published authors. No doubt, because they value good writing above everything else.

The prize has previously by won by literary heavy-weights such as Adam Foulds, Zadie Smith, William Dalrymple, Simon Armitage, Helen Simpson, Sarah Waters and William Fiennes. Could you be the next winner? Aside from the prestige, the main prize is £5,000 and 3 runners-up will also receive £500. Entrants must be under 35 and British/Irish. Categories are: fiction, non-fiction and poetry. It would be fantastic if a self-published author won this year, so please encourage all the great self-published authors you know to enter.

Full details can be found on the Society of Authors website.

Good luck!

Prizes are a great way to raise your profile as an author.  For more information on which prizes are open to self-published authors, see this great blog post over at the Alliance of Independent Authors.



Comments ( 0 )

    Leave A Comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *